(I don’t think I should already talk about this, but for this particular instance, I want to do this because I want to jinx this as much as possible.)

About two weeks ago, I was informed that I will be one of the two people that have been recommended to do a secondment for one of our bank clients outside of the country. One of the plans is that one guy will go on-site first and the other will be working off-site, then after 6 months they will swap places. Though nothing has been finalized yet, I am expected to go on-site at around October to March next year.

Like my boss have said, this is a great exposure for me. Another benefit that I would see from this is that the travel opportunity will boost my chances of approving my Japanese Visa, should I apply for one.

The sad thing about this though is the schedule. I mean look at it: October 2010 to March 2011. To put into a much clearer perspective, here are the things that I will be missing out:

  • any possible Christmas party
  • Christmas at home
  • New Year at home (though actually, I have volunteered to go on a graveyard shift on December)
  • DLSU’s Centennial celebration.
  • Our usual ‘Valentine’s Getaway with officemates. Last 2009 we went to Bohol, and this past February we went to Coron, Palawan. For next year, we plan to go either to Bali or Phuket, first time for us to be together outside of the country.
  • My planned Korea trip to visit a high school classmate
  • Any travel other travel opportunities from that period of time.

Kind of sad, isn’t it? Six months seem to be a very long time, considering that some of the people here that got seconded before were only out for 2-3 months.

And again, nothing is actually final yet. As I have mentioned at the start of this blog, I really wanted to talk (when I should be a bit mum about it) and be too assuming about this because I believe that in doing so, I’ll be able to jinx it. It’ll be nakakahiya if in case I did not push through with the secondment, but it will still be alright for me.

But please don’t have the impression that I do not want to do this. In fact I do, because of the work opportunity and the definite expertise in the field that comes with it. And besides, this will be probably become the only time in my life that I will be able to ride a business class plane.

Anyway, we’ll just see what happens.